San Lorenzo claims title after draw with Velez

Updated: December 16, 2013

Buenos Aires, Argentina ( – San Lorenzo was crowned the 2013
Argentina Apertura champions on Sunday after a 0-0 draw with Velez Sarsfield.

The final day saw first-place San Lorenzo take on third-place Velez, while
Newell’s faced Lanus with both teams in the top four and also having a chance
to win the league with other results going their way.

San Lorenzo entered the day with a two-point lead on the rest of the field,
but a 0-0 draw with Velez forced the club to wait until the result of the
Newell’s and Lanus match to celebrate.

Velez controlled much of the match but was unable to find the necessary goal
to give them a chance at winning the league.

Meanwhile, Lanus entered the day with a superior goal difference and could
have captured the league with a win at Newell’s.

The hosts went ahead in the 53rd minute through Pablo Perez, but Lanus
equalized two minutes later courtesy of a Paolo Goltz goal.

However, Lanus fell behind again in the 67th to an own goal from Carlos
Izquierdoz, while the visitors could only muster an equalizer from Jorge Diaz
15 minutes from time.

The title is the 15th for San Lorenzo in club history and the first since the
2007 Clausura.