Louisville, Kansas, Gonzaga, Indiana get No. 1 seeds

Updated: March 17, 2013

Louisville, Kansas, Gonzaga and Indiana
were each given top seeds for the 2013 NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

Louisville (29-5) earned the No. 1 overall seed with a strong finish. The
Cardinals won their last nine games — eight by double digits — and captured
the always difficult Big East Tournament with a 17-point win over Syracuse on

The Cardinals will play in the Midwest Region, while Kansas (29-5), the Big 12
regular season and Tournament champions, highlight the South Region.

Gonzaga (31-2), the No. 1 team in the Associated Press poll and owners of a
14-winning streak with a perfect run through the West Coast Conference, will
be in the West Region.

Despite losing in the Big Ten Tournament quarterfinals, Indiana (27-6) was
awarded the top seed in the East Region by winning the regular season title in
arguably the toughest conference in the country.

The Big Ten received seven bids, one less than the Big East.

A new champion will be crowned this season as the Kentucky Wildcats did not
gain an at-large bid into the tournament after five players from last year’s
title team left school early for the NBA Draft.

The No. 2 seeds in the field are Duke, Georgetown, Miami-Florida and Ohio
State. Michigan State, Florida, Marquette and New Mexico comprise the No. 3
seeds, while Saint Louis, Michigan, Syracuse and Kansas State round out the
top four seeds in each region.

The opening round — referred to as the “First Four” — commences Tuesday in a
pair of Midwest Region games. In a matchup of No. 11 seeds, Middle Tennessee
and Saint Mary’s do battle, while North Carolina A&T will play Liberty as No.
16 seeds.

Wednesday features Boise State and La Salle vying for the No. 13 seed in the
West Region, and LIU-Brooklyn and James Madison will fight for the right to
play top-seeded Indiana in the East Region.

All four games will be played at University of Dayton Arena.

The “madness” truly begins with 32 games on Thursday and Friday, and the
winners going on to the third round over the weekend.

The Verizon Center in Washington, D.C. will host the East Regional semifinals
and final on March 28 and 30, the same days the West Regional is decided at
Staples Center in Los Angeles. The South’s Sweet 16 and Elite Eight games will
be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on March 29 and 31, while the
Midwest’s Friday-Sunday scenario takes place at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington.

The Final Four will be April 6 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta with the
championship game two nights later.