UW-Whitewater dethrones Mount Union for D-III crown

Updated: December 20, 2013

Salem, VA (SportsNetwork.com) – Matt Behrendt threw four touchdown passes and
Jordan Ratliffe rushed for 146 yards and two scores, as Wisconsin-Whitewater
routed defending champion Mount Union, 52-14, on Friday at Salem Stadium for
the Division III national title.

Behrendt completed 20-of-28 passes for 249 yards, Ratliffe carried the ball 28
times, and Jake Kumerow and Tyler Huber each had two touchdown grabs for the
Warhawks (15-0), who had won three straight national championships before
missing the playoffs entirely last season and watching Mount Union claim the

However, the Purple Raiders (14-1) were unable to make it back-to-back crowns,
as last year’s Stagg Bowl MVP Kevin Burke was picked off twice while
completing 22-of-31 passes for 316 yards in the setback.

Burke and Bradley Mitchell each registered a rushing score for Mount Union,
which defeated St. Thomas (Minn.) by a 28-10 margin in last year’s national
title game.

Mitchell’s 11-yard TD run late in the first half brought Mount Union within
21-14 heading into the break, but the Warhawks scored the final 31 points of
the game to run away with their fifth Stagg Bowl crown.

The two teams have been the last two standing in Division III in eight of the
past nine seasons.