FSU freshman Winston wins Heisman

Updated: December 15, 2013

New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) – After being announced as the 79th Heisman
Trophy winner, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston walked up to the
podium and flashed his signature smile.

The freshman phenom hopes to be smiling even wider in a few weeks.

Winston won the Heisman Trophy in a landslide on Saturday night, becoming the
youngest player to capture college football’s most prestigious individual

“It feels great to be part of the (Heisman) family. I just thank everyone with
the Heisman Trust that allowed me to be in it. It feels great. I cannot
explain the feeling that I have inside right now,” Winston said.

The gregarious 19-year-and-342-day-old Winston is the second straight
freshman to win the award after Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became
the first to do so last season.

Winston has thrown for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns, both FBS freshman
records. He helped unbeaten Florida State (13-0) climb to No. 1 in the BCS
standings for the first time in 14 years. The Seminoles will play No. 2 Auburn
for the national title on Jan. 6.

After Winston was not charged in a sexual assault case stemming from events in
December 2012, many of the voters weren’t afraid to stay away.

Winston’s margin of victory was the fifth largest in the modern era — last 50
years. He earned 668 first-place votes and 2,205 points, 1,501 more than
Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron, who finished second with 704 points.

Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch was third with 558 points, Boston
College running back Andre Williams came in fourth with 470 points, Manziel
was fifth with 421 points and Auburn running back Tre Mason finished sixth
with 404 points.

Some of the voters, though, did seem to shy away as Winston was left off of
115 ballots entirely.

“My innocence was proven. So this last month has made me, it’s probably that
humbling moment that you have in your life,” Winston said.

Quarterbacks Charlie Ward in 1993 and Chris Weinke in 2000 are the only
other FSU players to win the Heisman. Weinke coincidentally was the oldest
Heisman winner.

“This Heisman isn’t just for Jameis Winston, it’s for Florida State,” Winston

McCarron, who won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, has been a part of three
national championship teams and owns a career record of 36-3 for Alabama. A
steady leader, he passed for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns as a senior.

Lynch’s Huskies were undefeated before losing the MAC Championship against
Bowling Green, and the senior’s performance was seen as a less-than-ideal
final chapter to a Heisman campaign despite 219 yards passing with a
touchdown and 126 yards rushing with two more scores.

Lynch rushed for 1,881 yards, breaking his own FBS quarterback record, and
passed for 2,676 while accounting for 45 total touchdowns.

Williams has five 200-yard rushing games and leads the nation with 2,102
yards on 329 carries. He left the team’s final regular-season game with an
injury after gaining just 29 yards, but is expected to be OK for the
AdvoCare V100 Bowl against Arizona on New Year’s Eve. Doug Flutie was Boston
College’s only Heisman winner in 1984.

After a star-making season in which Manziel set the SEC record for total
offense in 2012, he has thrown for 3,537 yards, run for 654 and has totaled 41
touchdowns this season.

Former Ohio State running back Archie Griffin remains the only player ever to
win two Heismans, doing it in back-to-back seasons in 1974-75.

Mason, the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, was probably a longshot candidate
before his performance in the SEC title game. The junior running back rushed
for 304 yards and four touchdowns as the Tigers routed Missouri to lock up
their BCS Championship Game berth.

Mason has run for 1,621 yards and 22 touchdowns for Auburn (12-1), including
164 yards and a score in the team’s Iron Bowl win over Alabama. Three
Auburn players have won the Heisman, including Bo Jackson in 1985 and Cam
Newton in 2010.

The six players invited to New York tied a Heisman record.