Pitt’s Donald cleans up at awards ceremony

Updated: December 12, 2013

Lake Buena Vista, FL (SportsNetwork.com) – The conference titles have been
fought for and won. The bowl matchups are set.

On Thursday night, college football’s best were honored individually during an
awards ceremony at Disney World, and Pittsburgh’s Aaron Donald was the big

The senior defensive tackle took home the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation’s
top defensive player and the Outland Trophy as the nation’s top interior
lineman, in addition to already having the Lombardi Award and Nagurski Trophy
under his belt.

Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron surprisingly took home the Maxwell Award,
which signifies the nation’s top all-around player. The senior signal-caller
beat out last year’s Heisman Trophy winner, Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, and
this year’s favorite, Jameis Winston of Florida State.

Winston did, however, capture the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top
quarterback as well as the Walter Camp Award, which honors the college
football player of the year as voted by coaches and sports information

Also on Thursday, Oregon State’s Brandin Cooks won the Biletnikoff Award (wide
receiver), Boston College’s Andre Williams was given the Doak Walker Award
(running back), Michigan State’s Darqueze Dennard was the recipient of the
Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back), Florida State’s Roberto Aguayo captured
the Lou Groza Award (place-kicker) and Memphis’ Tom Hornsey took away the Ray
Guy Award winner (punter).