Jensen, Starr headline Missouri Valley awards

Updated: November 27, 2013

St. Louis, MO ( – North Dakota State quarterback Brock Jensen
and South Dakota linebacker Tyler Starr were named the Missouri Valley Football
Conference’s offensive and defensive player of the year, respectively, on

Jensen received 81 points in the voting by a panel consisting of Missouri
Valley coaches, sports information directors and media.

South Dakota State running back Zach Zenner received 46 points followed by
Youngstown State quarterback Kurt Hess with 11 and Northern Iowa running back
David Johnson with 10.

The defensive voting was Starr with 50 points, North Dakota State linebacker
Grant Olson with 34, Missouri State safety Caleb Schaffitzel with 31, South
Dakota State linebacker R.C. Kilgore with 14 and Illinois State defensive end
Colton Underwood with 12.

Youngstown State running back Martin Ruiz was the newcomer and freshman of the
year, while North Dakota State’s Craig Bohl was named the coach of the year.