Raikkonen wins thriller in Abu Dhabi

Updated: November 4, 2012

Kimi Raikkonen won a thrilling race at the Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi, with championship contenders Fernando Alonso coming home in second followed by Sebastian Vettel, who fought has way through the field from last place to finish third.

In one of the most exciting races of the season, pact full of incidence, several retirements including Hamilton who was leading at the time, Raikkonen held off a last lap challenge by Alonso to win his first race since Belgium in 2009, and the 19th in all.

What can be said of Vettel? The German started from the pit lane and very quickly made his way through the field. With the safety car coming out twice, this played into Vettel’s hand, on every occasion giving him an advantage he took. Horner said he would have been happy if Vettel could fight his way into the points, but to finish on the podium made his performance even more remarkable.He now has 255 points to Alonso’s 245 and can clinch a third successive title in Austin, Texas, in two weeks if results go his way.

Red Bull could have clinched the constructors’ championship for the third year in a row on Sunday but were made to wait after Australian Mark Webber crashed out. They now have 422 points to Ferrari’s 340 with 86 remaining to be won.

1. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) 1hr 45min 58.667sec
2. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) at 0.852s
3. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) 4.163
4. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) 7.787
5. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) 13.007
6. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) 20.076
7. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) 22.896
8. Bruno Senna (BRA/Williams) 23.542
9. Paul di Resta (GBR/Force India) 24.160
10. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso) 27.463
11. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes) 28.075
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Toro Rosso) 34.906
13. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Caterham) 47.764
14. Timo Glock (GER/Marussia) 56.473
15. Sergio Perez (MEX/Sauber) 56.768
16. Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Caterham) 1:04.59
17. Pedro de la Rosa (ESP/HRT) 1:11.778