Alonso wins again in Germany

Updated: July 23, 2012

Fernando Alonso extended his lead in this year’s Formula One drivers’ world championship on Sunday when he drove to a flawless victory for Ferrari in the German Grand Prix.

Driving with perfect judgement and great speed, the 30-year-old Spaniard started from pole position and dominated the 67-lap race in consummate style.

The Spaniard came home 3.7 seconds ahead of local hero, defending champion Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull, who was later handed a 20sec drive-through penalty for passing Jenson Button.

Vettel was handed the penalty for running off the track at a hairpin exit as he tried to pass McLaren’s Button on the penultimate lap and dropped back to fifth place, leaving Button second at 6.949sec.

Finland’s Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus completed the podium at 16.409sec.

Japan’s Kamui Kobayashi of Sauber was fourth at 21.925 with Vettel slotting back into fifth at 23.732.

It was Alonso’s third win this year after his triumphs in Malaysia and at the European Grand Prix, and it was also the 22nd consecutive race in which he had finished in the points for Ferrari.

He moves 34 points clear of Mark Webber in the title race with 154 points to the Australian’s 120.

1. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) 1hr 31min 05.862sec (average: 201.844 km/h)
2. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren Mercedes) at 6.949sec
3. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) 16.409
4. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) 21.925
5. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull Racing) 23.732
6. Sergio Perez (MEX/Sauber) 27.896
7. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes AMG) 28.970
8. Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull Racing) 46.941
9. Nico Huelkenberg (GER/Force India) 48.162
10. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 48.889