Button takes Spa pole

Updated: September 2, 2012

Jenson Button celebrated his 50th Formula One race for McLaren by ending a three-year wait to claim pole position in qualifying at the Belgian Grand Prix on Saturday.

The pole was Button’s first since the 2009 Monaco Grand Prix, the year he won a memorable championship with Brawn GP, and his first at McLaren and at the majestic Spa circuit.

Kamui Kobayashi put his Sauber on the front row, a career best for him and only the second time a Japanese driver has qualified so high on the grid.

Venezuelan Pastor Maldonado was third fastest for Williams, his best qualifying display since he started on pole in Spain in May, but stewards later handed him a three-place penalty for impeding Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg.


1. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:47.573
2. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber – Ferrari 1:47.871
3. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams – Renault 1:47.893
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus – Renault 1:48.205
5. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber – Ferrari 1:48.219
6. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:48.313
7. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 1:48.392
8. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:48.394
9. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Renault 1:48.538
10. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India – Mercedes 1:48.890