Hamilton claims Sepang win

Updated: March 30, 2014


Lewis Hamilton completed the perfect weekend for Mercedes when he stormed to victory from pole position for his first win at Sepang in Malaysia. Team mate and winner in the opening race of the season in Melbourne, Nico Rosberg, secured second with quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel coming home third.

On Saturday, Hamilton equaled the British pole record of 33 held by Jim Clark when he edged out Sebastian Vettel and the 2008 world champion continued his ominous form on race day, when he streaked away from the rest of the field to win the 23rd race of his career by 14 seconds over team mate Rosberg, giving Mercedes maximum points.

Quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel, secured a surprise 62nd podium of his career when he steered his Red Bull home in third, a massive statement by the team after a disastrous preseason that suggested it would be several rounds before they produced a car capable of challenging for the title.

Fernando Alonso came home an encouraging fourth however the double world champion will be left frustrated in the knowledge that his team has yet to deliver a car that can challenge for the title.

Nico Hulkenberg underlined Force India’s elevation to F1’s elite, when he improved on his 6th place finish in Melbourne by coming home 5th ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button who moved through the field after starting 10th.

Williams collected more points as Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas finished 8th and 9th respectively with McLaren’s Magnussen unable to follow up his podium last week, completing the top 10.

Rosberg leads the championship after round 2 with 43 points ahead of team mate Hamilton on 25 with Alonso in third a point further back. In the constructors, Mercedes moved ahead of McLaren by 25 points after collecting maximum in Malaysia.

Next stop for the Formula 1 road show will be in Bahrain next weekend.

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:40:25.974
2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes +00:17.313
3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull – Renault 00:24.534
4. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:35.992
5. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 00:47.199
6. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 01:23.691
7. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 01:25.076
8. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 01:25.537
9. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 1 lap
10. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Renault 1 lap