Hamilton doesit again in the US

Updated: November 19, 2012

The last man to win an F1 Grand Prix in the US was Lewis Hamilton in 2007, in Austin Texas at the Circuit of the Americas. he repeated that feat on a successful return of the sport to the US. In an exciting race Hamilton overhauled Sebastian Vettel and kept him at bay while Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso kept his championship hopes alive with a third place finish.

Vettel goes to Interlagos with a lead of 13 points, on 273 points compared to Alonso on 260.

The 27-year-old Briton, who started second on the grid alongside the defending champion, made the most of his superior outright speed to pass Vettel on lap 42 and claim the 21st victory of his career.

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/McLaren) 1hr 35min 55.269sec
2. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) at 0.675
3. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) 39.229
4. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) 46.013
5. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) 56.432
6. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) 1:04.425
7. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus) 1:10.313
8. Nico Hülkenberg (GER/Force India) 1:13.792
9. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) 1:14.525
10. Bruno Senna (BRA/Williams) 1:15.133
11. Sergio Perez (MEX/Sauber) 1:24.341
12. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso) 1:24.871
13. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 1:25.510
14. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) 1 lap
15. Paul di Resta (GBR/Force India) 1 lap
16. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes) 1 lap
17. Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Caterham) 1 lap
18. Timo Glock (GER/Marussia) 1 lap
19. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Caterham) 1 lap
20. Charles Pic (FRA/Marussia) 2 laps
21. Pedro de la Rosa (ESP/HRT) 2 laps
22. Narain Karthikeyan (IND/HRT) 2 laps