Hamilton stripped of Barca Pole

Updated: May 13, 2012

Lewis Hamilton’s spectacular but often controversial career suffered a new twist Saturday when he was stripped of pole for the Spanish Grand Prix because his McLaren team failed to give him enough fuel.

As a result, Venezuelan Pastor Maldonado of Williams will start from pole position for the first time after being promoted from second on the grid while Hamilton, the 2008 world champion, will start from the back.

The 27-year-old Briton was excluded from the qualifying results because he did not return to the pits with his McLaren car after setting his fastest lap. Instead, he followed urgent orders transmitted by the team and stopped out on the track. He required assistance to return to the pits where a one litre fuel sample was to be taken.

A stewards meeting later decided that this was in breach of the regulations and excluded Hamilton, dismissing his team’s argument that this had happened under circumstances of ‘force majeure’.
1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1 min 21.707 secs    (Hamilton starts from the back of the grid)
2. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams-Renault 1:22.285
3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:22.302
4. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Renault 1:22.424
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus – Renault 1:22.487
6. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber – Ferrari 1:22.533
7. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:23.005
8. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull-Renault
9. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes
10. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber – Ferrari
11. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:22.944
12. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull-Renault 1:22.977
13. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India-Mercedes 1:23.125
14. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India-Mercedes 1:23.177
15. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:23.265
16. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:23.442
17. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:23.444
18. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams – Renault 1:24.981
19. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham – Renault 1:25.277
20. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham – Renault 1:25.507
21. Charles Pic (France) Marussia -Cosworth 1:26.582
22. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia -Cosworth 1:27.032
23. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT – Cosworth 1:27.555
nq. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT – Cosworth 1:31.122