Hamilton tops teammate Rosberg for British GP pole

Updated: June 29, 2013


Lewis Hamilton claimed the pole position for the British Grand Prix after edging Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg in Saturday’s qualifying.

Hamilton, in his first season with Mercedes, beat Rosberg for the pole in the closing seconds when he completed his lap around the 3.7-mile Silverstone Circuit in 1 minute, 29.607 seconds. He earned his second pole of the season and the 28th of his Formula One career.

It will be the second time Hamilton starts on the pole for his home race. The Englishman started first in the British GP when he was a rookie in 2007. He won this race in 2008.

Rosberg, who was fastest in the second and third practice sessions, held the provisional pole with his lap in 1:30.059 before Hamilton made his final lap. It’s the third time this season Mercedes has swept the front starting row. Rosberg and Hamilton also shared the front row for the Spanish Grand Prix and the Monaco Grand Prix, both being held in May.

Red Bull drivers Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber will line-up on the second row, with Vettel, the three-time defending F1 world champion and current points leader, qualifying third and Webber taking the fourth spot.

Webber announced on Thursday that he is leaving Formula One at the end of this season and joining Porsche’s new sports car program in the Le Mans 24 Hours and World Endurance Championship in 2014. He won the British GP in 2010 and last year.

Paul di Resta from Force India qualified fifth, followed by Toro Rosso’s Daniel Ricciardo. Di Resta’s teammate, Adrian Sutil, was seventh. Lotus drivers Romain Grosjean and Kimi Raikkonen qualified eighth and ninth, respectively.

Ferrari struggled in qualifying, with Fernando Alonso finishing in 10th and Felipe Massa in 12th. Alonso is a two-time British GP winner (2006 and ’11).

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:29.607
2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:30.059
3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull – Renault 1:30.211
4. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 1:30.220
5. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India – Mercedes 1:30.736
6. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1:30.757
7. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 1:30.908
8. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Renault 1:30.955
9. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus – Renault 1:30.962
10. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:30.979
11. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:31.649
12. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:31.779
13. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1:31.785
14. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 1:32.082
15. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari 1:32.211
16. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams – Renault 1:32.359
17. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams – Renault 1:32.664
18. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber – Ferrari 1:32.666
19. Charles Pic (France) Caterham – Renault 1:33.866
20. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia – Cosworth 1:34.108
21. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham – Renault 1:35.481
22. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia – Cosworth 1:35.858
1-10: third and final qualifying session
11-16: second qualifying session
17-22: first qualifying session