Hamilton wins in the US

Updated: November 19, 2012

Lewis Hamilton won back to back races in the US, holding off Sebastian Vettel to win at the Circuit of the Americas. Hamilton was the last winner of the US Grand Prix when the event was held back in 2007. In an exciting race that appeared to win over race fans in the US, Hamilton delivered a memorable drive from second on the grid, overhauling Vettel and keeping him at bay to win the 21st race of his career.

For Vettel, it was a personal disappointment, but not enough to prevent his Red Bull team from winning the constructors title for the third successive season.

Fernando Alonso kept his championship hopes alive coming home in third after starting from seventh.

Vettel goes to Interlagos with a lead of 13 points, on 273 points compared to Alonso on 260.

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/McLaren) 1hr 35min 55.269sec
2. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) at 0.675
3. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) 39.229
4. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) 46.013
5. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) 56.432
6. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) 1:04.425
7. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus) 1:10.313
8. Nico Hülkenberg (GER/Force India) 1:13.792
9. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) 1:14.525
10. Bruno Senna (BRA/Williams) 1:15.133
11. Sergio Perez (MEX/Sauber) 1:24.341
12. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso) 1:24.871
13. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 1:25.510
14. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) 1 lap
15. Paul di Resta (GBR/Force India) 1 lap
16. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes) 1 lap
17. Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Caterham) 1 lap
18. Timo Glock (GER/Marussia) 1 lap
19. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Caterham) 1 lap
20. Charles Pic (FRA/Marussia) 2 laps
21. Pedro de la Rosa (ESP/HRT) 2 laps
22. Narain Karthikeyan (IND/HRT) 2 laps