McLaren package delivers Hamilton Monza win

Updated: September 9, 2012

Lewis Hamilton revived his bid for this year’s Formula One world title on Sunday when he swept to a dominant triumph for McLaren to record his first ever win in the Italian Grand Prix.

The 27-year-old Briton, starting from pole position, followed in the footsteps of team mate Jenson Button last week to become only the second driver to win from pole and deliver McLaren a third consecutive win and the 20th of his career.

It lifted him back into contention for the championship, but his McLaren teammate and fellow-Briton Jenson Button’s hopes of a second world title disappeared as he was forced to retire with 20 laps remaining.

It was Perez’s third podium finish of the season and endorsed the view of many paddock observers that he could be on the move to replace Massa at Ferrari next year.

Alonso leads the championship with 179 points ahead of Hamilton on 142 and Finland’s former world champion Kimi Räikkönen on 141 – defending champion Sebastian Vettel is on 140 with seven races remaining.

Vettel struggled through a disappointing race during which he forced Alonso off the track, was handed a drive-through penalty and finally retired his Red Bull due to technical problems.


1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:19:41.221
2. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber – Ferrari +00:04.356
3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:20.594
4. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:29.667
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus – Renault 00:30.881
6. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 00:31.259
7. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 00:33.550
8. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India – Mercedes 00:41.057
9. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber – Ferrari 00:43.898
10. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams – Renault 00:48.144
11. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams – Renault 00:48.682
12. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 00:50.316
13. Jerome d’Ambrosio (Belgium) Lotus – Renault 01:15.861
14. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham – Renault 1 lap
15. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham – Renault 1 lap
16. Charles Pic (France) Marussia – Cosworth 1 lap
17. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia – Cosworth 1 lap
18. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT – Cosworth 1 lap
19. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT – Cosworth 1 lap
20r. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 2 laps
21r. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 3 laps
22r. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull – Renault 6 laps
r. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 21 laps
r. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 45 laps