Vettel adds to F1 points lead with Canadian GP win

Updated: June 9, 2013


Sebastian Vettel from Red Bull extended his
lead in the Formula One world championship point standings with a dominating
performance in Sunday’s Canadian Grand Prix.

Vettel, who started on the pole, relinquished the lead only once when he
pitted during the 70-lap race at Montreal’s Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. The
three-time defending F1 champion finished 14.4 seconds ahead of second-place
Fernando Alonso from Ferrari.

“It’s great to win today,” Vettel said. “I was pushing very hard, especially
at the beginning of the race. I had a moment when I hit the wall, but I didn’t
feel it. I was trying to get away from the field, as you don’t know what will
happen towards the end. It turned out that we could control things in the
later stages.”

Vettel claimed his third win of the season and the 29th of his F1 career. It
was the first victory in the Canadian GP for Vettel and Red Bull. In this race
two years ago, which featured torrential rain conditions, Vettel appeared to
be on his way to victory but locked up the rear and slid wide on the final
lap. He ended up finishing second to McLaren’s Jenson Button.

“Having come so close two years ago, to win in the dominant fashion that we
did today was a tremendous performance, despite a couple of heart-stopping
moments, particularly when Seb touched the wall,” team principal Christian
Horner said. “He was totally commanding today and thoroughly deserved the

On Saturday, Vettel claimed his third consecutive pole position for the
Canadian GP after he won qualifying in rainy conditions.

“It was good to see that we were quick in all conditions this weekend and had
speed in the race,” he said. “We had average tire wear, which hasn’t always
been the case for us. So we have made a step forward there. It’s nice to win

Vettel has now accumulated 132 points for the season, while second-place
Alonso trails him by 36 points.

“I think second tastes of victory, because we scored some good points after a
very difficult weekend,” said Alonso, who started sixth.

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton, who won this race one year ago, finished third,
while Vettel’s teammate, Mark Webber, took the fourth spot.

“The car felt fantastic today, and I had good grip for the low-speed corners,
but we just weren’t quite on the pace of Seb and Fernando,” Hamilton said.

Nico Rosberg from Mercedes completed the top-five. Rosberg won the Monaco
Grand Prix from the pole position two weeks ago.

Toro Rosso’s Jean-Eric Vergne took the sixth spot, followed by Paul di Resta
for Force India and Felipe Massa from Ferrari. Massa started 16th after he
crashed during the second session in qualifying. He slid off course and
slammed sideways into the barrier in turn 3, causing significant damage to his

Kimi Raikkonen from Lotus and Force India’s Adrian Sutil finished ninth and
10th, respectively. Raikkonen, who experienced an issue with the rear jack
during his pit stop, managed to score his 24th consecutive points finish,
placing him in a tie with Michael Schumacher for the F1 record.

1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull – Renault 1:32:09.143
2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari +00:14.408
3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 00:15.942
4. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 00:25.731
5. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 01:09.725
6. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1 lap
7. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
8. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1 lap
9. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus – Renault 1 lap
10. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
11. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 1 lap
12. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1 lap
13. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Renault 1 lap
14. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams – Renault 1 lap
15. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 2 laps
16. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams – Renault 2 laps
17. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia – Cosworth 2 laps
18. Charles Pic (France) Caterham – Renault 3 laps
19. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia – Cosworth 3 laps
20. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber – Ferrari 7 laps
r. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari 24 laps
r. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham – Renault 26 laps