Webber wins British GP

Updated: July 9, 2012

Mark Webber claimed the ninth win of his career on Sunday when he swept to a dramatic and perfectly-judged victory in an incident-filled British Grand Prix.

In a race run in welcome, if rare, dry conditions, the 35-year-old Australian steered his Red Bull through 52 laps of complex tactical and strategic racing to overtake pole sitter nad lontime leader Fernando Alonso of Ferrari close home.

It was Webber’s second win this year, after triumphing at Monaco, and his second at Silverstone in three years.

1. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 1:25:11.288
2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari +00:03.060
3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull – Renault 00:04.836
4. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:09.519
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus – Renault 00:10.314
6. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Renault 00:17.101
7. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 00:29.153
8. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 00:36.463
9. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams – Renault 00:43.347
10. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:44.444