Kimball claims first IndyCar win at Mid-Ohio

Updated: August 4, 2013

Lexington, OH (Sports Network) – Charlie Kimball became a first-time race
winner and continued Chip Ganassi Racing’s latest dominance in the IndyCar
Series by taking Sunday’s 90-lap event at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

In a race that ran caution-free, Kimball passed Simon Pagenaud and took the
lead for good with 18 laps remaining. He beat Pagenaud to the finish line by
5.5 seconds for his maiden IndyCar win in his 45th start.

Kimball also gave Chip Ganassi Racing its fourth consecutive victory this
season as well as its fifth win in a row at this 2.258-mile, 13-turn road
course. Scott Dixon had won the previous three races (Pocono and both weekend
events in Toronto last month). Kimball became the fourth first-time winner in
the series this year, joining James Hinchcliffe (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Takuma
Sato (Long Beach, Calif.) and Pagenaud (Detroit/Race 2).

Dario Franchitti, who is Kimball’s teammate at Ganassi and the 2010 race
winner at Mid-Ohio, finished third. Will Power and Ryan Hunter-Reay, the pole
sitter and defending IndyCar champion, rounded out the top-five.

Dixon, who was attempting to win his fourth straight race, placed seventh. He
had won four of the first six IndyCar events at Mid-Ohio, including victories
here the previous two years.

Helio Castroneves, the current points leader, finished sixth after starting
14th. Castroneves’ advantage over Dixon is now 31 points. Hunter-Reay is 65
behind the leader.