BBWAA unveils award finalists

Updated: November 5, 2013

Secaucus, NJ ( – The Baseball Writers’ Association of
America revealed the candidates for the four major individual honors Tuesday.

Detroit Tigers third baseman and reigning American League MVP Miguel Cabrera
headlines the list of finalists for this year’s award. The last AL player to
win back-to-back MVPs was Chicago’s Frank Thomas in 1993-94.

Baltimore Orioles masher Chris Davis and Angels center fielder Mike Trout, the
2012 runner-up, round out the AL MVP nominees.

Among those being considered for the NL MVP are Pittsburgh center fielder
Andrew McCutchen, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina and Arizona first baseman
Paul Goldschmidt.

Detroit’s 21-game winner Max Scherzer is the presumed front-runner for the AL
Cy Young Award. Texas’ Yu Darvish and Seattle’s Hisashi Iwakuma are the other

Los Angeles ace Clayton Kershaw appears to be the favorite to win his second
NL Cy Young Award in three years after leading the majors with a 1.83 earned
run average. Miami’s Jose Fernandez, a contender for the rookie accolade as
well, and St. Louis’ Adam Wainwright are also in the hunt for the top pitching
honor in the NL.

Tampa Bay outfielder Wil Myers and pitcher Chris Archer as well as Tigers
shortstop Jose Iglesias make up the finalists for the AL Rookie of the Year
Award, while Los Angeles outfielder Yasiel Puig and St. Louis hurler Shelby
Miller join Fernandez as the NL rookie hopefuls.

John Farrell of the World Series champion Boston Red Sox, Cleveland’s Terry
Francona and Oakland’s Bob Melvin were named the nominees for the AL Manager
of the Year Award. Melvin was last year’s recipient.

Pittsburgh’s Clint Hurdle, the Dodgers’ Don Mattingly and Atlanta’s Fredi
Gonzalez comprise the field for the best NL skipper.

The winners will be announced next week.