Cano, 12 others reject qualifying offers

Updated: November 11, 2013

New York, NY ( – All 13 major league baseball players who
received qualifying offers from their teams have declined them at Monday’s
deadline, the Players Association announced.

The list includes three members of the 2013 world champion Boston Red Sox —
center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury, first baseman Mike Napoli and shortstop
Stephen Drew — as well as three New York Yankees in second baseman Robinson
Cano, outfielder Curtis Granderson and pitcher Hiroki Kuroda.

Also rejecting the one-year, $14.1 million tenders were St. Louis Cardinals
slugger Carlos Beltran, Cincinnati Reds outfielder Shin-Soo Choo, Texas
Rangers outfielder Nelson Cruz, Atlanta Braves catcher Brian McCann, Cleveland
Indians pitcher Ubaldo Jimenez, Seattle Mariners first baseman Kendrys Morales
and Kansas City Royals hurler Ervin Santana.

All 13 players are now free to sign with any team. The majority of the group
— and especially in the cases of Cano, Ellsbury, Choo, McCann and Cruz — are
expected to land multi-year contracts with a higher annual average value than
the initial offers they received.

By submitting a qualifying offer to a free agent, that player’s team will
receive a compensatory pick between the first and second rounds of next June’s
First-Year Player Draft if he signs with another club.