Cleveland carries 11 pitchers for wild card game

Updated: October 2, 2013

Cleveland, OH ( – The Cleveland Indians finalized their
roster for Wednesday’s American League wild card game and will carry 11
pitchers into their matchup with the Tampa Bay Rays at Progressive Field.

Rookie right-hander Danny Salazar is slated to start the contest and will be
joined by fellow rotation members Corey Kluber and Scott Kazmir.

Justin Masterson, who moved to the bullpen late in the season after going
14-10 in 29 starts, joins fellow right-handers Cody Allen, Joe Smith, Matt
Albers, Bryan Shaw and Chris Perez, along with lefties Marc Rzepczynski and
Rich Hill as the Tribe’s relievers against the Rays.

Wednesday’s infield consists of six players, including first baseman Nick
Swisher, All-Star second baseman Jason Kipnis, shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera,
third baseman Lonnie Chisenhall and utilitymen Mike Aviles and Jose Ramirez.

Michael Brantley, Michael Bourn, Drew Stubbs, Matt Carson and Ryan Raburn make
up Cleveland’s outfield, while Yan Gomes and Carlos Santana are the catchers
and Jason Giambi is the designated hitter.