MLB announces 2013 Division Series umpires

Updated: September 30, 2013

New York, NY (Sports Network) – The umpires for the wild card games and
Division Series matchups were announced Monday by Major League Baseball.

Joe West will be the crew chief and the home plate umpire for the National
League wild card matchup between the Pittsburgh Pirates and Cincinnati Reds.
Joining West will be Dale Scott, Dan Iassogna, Rob Drake, Tim Timmons and
Lance Barksdale.

Gerry Davis has been selected to lead the crew and umpire behind home plate
for the AL wild card game between the Cleveland Indians and either the Texas
Rangers or Tampa Bay Rays. Ted Barrett, Mike Everitt, Greg Gibson, Phil Cuzzi
and Brian Knight will join Davis in Cleveland.

Jerry Layne is the crew chief for the National League Division Series between
the St. Louis Cardinals and the wild card winner. He will be joined by Wally
Bell, Sam Holbrook, Jim Joyce, Paul Nauert and Tony Randazzo.

John Hirschbeck will lead the crew for the other NLDS between Atlanta and Los
Angeles. Laz Diaz, Marvin Hudson, Bill Miller, Tim Welke and Hunter
Wendelstedt will also work that series.

Dana DeMuth was given crew chief responsibilities for the American League
Division Series featuring the Boston Red Sox and the wild card winner. Joining
DeMuth will be Eric Cooper, Paul Emmel, Chris Guccione, Larry Vanover and Mike

Gary Darling will head the unit for the other ALDS between Detroit and
Oakland. CB Bucknor, Mike DiMuro, Tom Hallion, Jim Reynolds and Mark Wegner
will join Darling.