Lorenzo secures Catalunya win

Updated: June 4, 2012

Jorge Lorenzo tightened his grip on the MotoGP championship lead when the Spanish Yamaha rider came out on top in a battle with compatriot Dani Pedrosa to win the Catalunya Grand Prix on Sunday.

Italian Andrea Dovizioso was third on his Yamaha, with Pedrosa’s Honda teammate and defending champion Casey Stoner of Australia fourth and Britain’s Cal Crutchlow, another Yamaha rider, fifth.

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 43:07.681
2. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 43:12.684
3. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Yamaha 43:17.042
4. Casey Stoner (Australia) Honda 43:17.225
5. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Yamaha 43:20.187
6. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 43:21.629
7. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Ducati 43:25.236
8. Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 43:31.159
9. Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Ducati 43:38.091
10. Ben Spies (U.S.) Yamaha 43:40.578