Lorenzo wins season opener

Updated: April 9, 2012

Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo won the season-opening Qatar MotoGP Grand Prix after snatching the lead off world champion Casey Stoner with just over three laps to go on Sunday.

Australian Stoner, who had won the night race four times in the last five years, was also passed by Honda team mate Dani Pedrosa in the closing stages and had to settle for third under the floodlights.

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 42:44.214
2. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 42:45.066
3. Casey Stoner (Australia) Honda 42:47.122
4. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Yamaha 43:01.328
5. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Yamaha 43:01.634
6. Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Ducati 43:12.627
7. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 43:12.660
8. Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 43:13.678
9. Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 43:15.598
10. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Ducati 43:17.879
11. Ben Spies (U.S.) Yamaha 43:41.121
12. Colin Edwards (U.S.) Suter 43:42.302
13. Randy de Puniet (France) Aprilia 43:54.864
14. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Kawasaki 44:00.157
15. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Aprilia 44:10.947