Lorenzo wins in San Marino

Updated: September 16, 2012

Spanish rider Jorge Lorenzo won the San Marino MotoGP to extend his lead in the world championship standings in Misano on Sunday.

The 25-year-old 2010 world champion, winning here for the second successive year, came home clear on his Yamaha ahead of Italy’s nine-time world champion Valentino Rossi on a Ducati, while Honda’s Spanish rider Alvaro Bautista was third.

Lorenzo had begun the day only 13 points ahead of compatriot Dani Pedrosa but the Honda rider was taken out of the race on the first lap by accident-prone Hector Barbera.

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 42:49.836
2. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Ducati 42:54.234
3. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 42:55.891
4. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Yamaha 42:55.894
5. Ben Spies (U.S.) Yamaha 42:57.379
6. Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 43:03.108
7. Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Ducati 43:30.743
8. Jonathan Rea (Britain) Honda 43:32.998
9. Randy de Puniet (France) Aprilia 43:59.463
10. Michele Pirro (Italy) Honda 44:03.441