Marquez makes it 6 in a row

Updated: June 2, 2014


Moto GP world champion Marc Marquez claimed his sixth consecutive win of the season when he held off Jorge Lorenzo in a thrilling battle at Mugello in Italy.

Marquez held his nerve in a tremendous battle with former world champion Jorge Lorenzo, crossing the line 0.121 seconds ahead of his compatriot in what was without question the most exciting race of the season.

Legendary Valentino Rossi, a seven times winner at Mugello and competing in his 300th race, secured the final podium position after starting from tenth on the grid, much to the delight of the home fans.

Marquez conceded the initiative off the start yet again as Yamaha’s Lorenzo took control of the race from the front at a circuit he has won on for the last three years.

Marquez tracked Lorenzo for most of the race, the Spaniard making his move with seven laps to go however Lorenzo never let him get away with the lead exchanging hands more than half a dozen times in a series of thrilling exchanges.

Marquez finally took the lead on the first corner of the final lap and held off a flying Lorenzo to keep his perfect start to season intact.

The win also saw Marquez equal Valentino Rossi’s record of six straight wins which the Italian achieved in 2002.

Rossi showed there is still plenty left in the tank by steering his Yamaha home in third with Dani Pedrosa finishing in fourth.

Rossi’s podium moved the Italian above Pedrosa into second place in the championship standings, a massive 53 points behind Marquez who doesn’t seem to be putting a foot wrong at the moment.

The Spaniard will have an opportunity to make it seven from seven in front of his home fans in two weeks time at the Grand Prix of Catalunya however he will be aware of the improving form of the Yamaha duo who have both tasted plenty of success in Barcelona, Lorenzo having won there on four occasion and Rossi with six wins in the premier class.

Honda’s Dani Pedrosa will be looking for a return to the podium, his last win in Barcelona coming way back in 2008.

1. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 41:38.254
2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 41:38.375
3. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 41:40.942
4. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 41:52.300
5. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 41:53.857
6. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 41:55.296
7. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 41:55.383
8. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 42:05.661
9. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 42:20.140
10. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 42:23.466