Marquez wins 5th consecutive race

Updated: May 18, 2014


Marc Marquez continued his stunning start to the 2014 Moto GP season when he stormed to a 5t consecutive race win of the season.

Marquez starting from pole endured a terrible start finishing the first lap in 10th place however the World Champion gathered himself to set a new circuit lap record on his way to the front of the pack.

Valentino Rossi led for much of the first half of the race however the Italian legend had no answer to the pace of the Honda eventually finishing 1.4 seconds behind.

Alvaro Bautista secured the final podium place.

Championship contenders Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo struggled to keep on the pace finishing 5th and 6th respectively.

Marquez has been unstoppable with records falling his way every week, this time round he became the youngest rider to win 5 consecutive wins bettering the record previously help by Mike Hailwood.

1. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 44:03.925
2. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 44:05.411
3. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 44:07.069
4. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 44:07.642
5. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 44:08.002
6. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 44:11.013
7. Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 44:15.452
8. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 44:26.028
9. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 44:26.551
10. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 44:27.033
11. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Ducati 44:29.705
12. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 44:43.448
13. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 44:46.469
14. Hiroshi Aoyama (Japan) Honda 44:46.661
15. Karel Abraham (Czech Republic) Honda 45:00.569