Pedrosa signs off with a win

Updated: November 11, 2012

Lorenzo was denied the opportunity of a final race win front of his home fans, when he crashed out of the final race of the Moto GP season at Valencia. Instead it was left up to another Spaniard Dani Pedrosa who from pole secured his seventh race win of the season, in what has been his most successful one to date.

Yamaha rider Lorenzo, who clinched his second world title two weeks ago at Phillip Island off Australia, lost control of his machine with around 17 laps remaining and catapaulted off the track to leave Honda’s Pedrosa with a comfortable lead over Briton Cal Crutchlow in third.

Crutchlow crashed with seven laps left and Pedrosa cruised to his seventh win of the year, one more than Lorenzo, almost 40 seconds ahead of Japanese Yamaha pilot Katsuyuki Nakasuga, standing in for injured American Ben Spies, in second.

Pedrosa’s Honda teammate Casey Stoner, in the Australian double world champion’s final race before retiring, pipped Yamaha’s Alvaro Bautista to third a further 23 seconds back.

1 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team 48’23.819
2 Katsuyuki NAKASUGA JPN Yamaha Factory Racing +37.661
3 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team +1’00.633
4 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini +1’02.811
5 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini +1’26.608
6 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +1’30.423
7 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing +1’31.789
8 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project 1 Lap
9 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport 1 Lap
10 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team 1 Lap
11 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar 1 Lap
12 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar 2 Laps
13 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Avintia Blusens 2 Laps
14 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing 3 Laps