Pedrosa storms to Spanish win

Updated: May 5, 2013


Three times Moto GP Championship runner up, Dani Pedrosa, stormed to his first race win of the season in Spain at the Circuito de Jerez. The Spaniard, winner in Jerez in 2008, finished 3.2 seconds ahead of rival and team mate Marc Marquez, who secured his third consecutive podium in as many starts, with defending world champion Jorge Lorenzo coming home third.

For the second consecutive race, the podium was occupied by the three Spanish contenders, much to the delight of their home fans, however not in the same order as the last round in Texas, and surrounded in controversy.

Lorenzo, winner in Spain in 2010 and 2011, started from pole but was soon eclipsed by Pedrosa, who then calmly set about  establishing a race winning lead and leaving Lorenzo and Marquez to battle it out for the remaining podium positions.

In a thrilling finish, Marquez took Lorenzo on the final corner which involved contact, and will for sure provoke an angry reaction from the double world champion Lorenzo.

Five times winner in Jerez, Valentino Rossi, secured fourth with an injured  Cal Crutchlow coming home fifth.

Marquez, who went top of the standings on 61 points three ahead of Pedrosa and four of Lorenzo, once again showed his class at just 20-years-old.

The next race is the French MotoGP at Le Mans in a fortnight.


1 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team 45’17.632
2 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team +2.487
3 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha Factory Racing +5.089
4 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha Factory Racing +8.914
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +12.663
6 Alvaro BAUTISTA GO&FUN Honda Gresini +15.094
7 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati Team +25.632
8 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team +41.881
9 Aleix ESPARGARO Power Electronics Aspar +43.812
10 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +44.461
11 Michele PIRRO Ducati Test Team +45.974
12 Hector BARBERA Avintia Blusens +59.859
13 Michael LAVERTY Paul Bird Motorsport +1’09.743
14 Danilo PETRUCCI Came IodaRacing Project +1’17.813
15 Colin EDWARDS NGM Mobile Forward Racing +1’18.177
16 Bryan STARING GO&FUN Honda Gresini +1’18.928
17 Claudio CORTI NGM Mobile Forward Racing +1’19.307
18 Hiroshi AOYAMA Avintia Blusens +1’19.457
Not Classified
Stefan BRADL LCR Honda MotoGP 24 Laps
Andrea IANNONE Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 24 Laps
Lukas PESEK Came IodaRacing Project 24 Laps
Randy DE PUNIET Power Electronics Aspar 25 Laps
Yonny HERNANDEZ Paul Bird Motorsport 25 Laps