Harvick wins Sprint Unlimited in Gen-6’s debut at Daytona

Updated: February 16, 2013

Kevin Harvick held off Tony Stewart and
Greg Biffle on the final lap to win Saturday night’s Sprint Unlimited at
Daytona International Speedway, a race that marked the competition debut of
NASCAR’s new Generation-6 car.

Harvick, who is in his final year with Richard Childress Racing, won the
preseason, non-points race at Daytona for the third time. His other victories
in this event came in 2009 and ’10. He also gave team owner Richard Childress
his eighth win in this race.

Biffle finished second, while Joey Logano, who made his first start in Penske
Racing’s No. 22 Ford, took the third spot. Stewart settled for fourth. Matt
Kenseth, making his debut in Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 20 Toyota, completed the

Just 12 drivers finished this race, as a multi-car wreck occurred on lap 15.
Stewart dove down the track and clipped Marcos Ambrose in turn three. Stewart
managed to save his car, but Jimmie Johnson, who was running on the outside at
the time, lost control and spun out, which triggered the incident. Johnson,
Jeff Gordon, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, who won this race last year, Mark Martin
and Denny Hamlin had their night at Daytona end early.