Johnson claims record fourth win in all-star race

Updated: May 19, 2013


Jimmie Johnson became the first driver to win
the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race four times on Saturday night at Charlotte
Motor Speedway.

Johnson, the five-time Sprint Cup Series champion, passed his Hendrick
Motorsports teammate, Kasey Kahne, for the lead after the final restart with
10 laps remaining. He was untouchable from there, beating his closest
competitor, Joey Logano, to the finish line by 1.7 seconds. Johnson, who won
the all-star race last season, joined Davey Allison as the only drivers to win
it in consecutive years. Allison accomplished the feat from 1991-92.

Johnson started the all-star race in 18th due to a mishap during his mandatory
four-tire pit stop in Friday’s qualifying. He overshot his pit box and then
received a five-second penalty for a loose lug nut.

When the fourth segment concluded after 80 laps, Johnson was the fourth driver
onto pit road. His No. 48 team gave him a quick enough stop to come out of the
pits in second, behind Kahne.

Kyle Busch, who led 29 of 90 laps, finished third, while Kahne faded at the
end to place fourth. Kurt Busch, also in front for 29 laps, completed the top-

Danica Patrick was the last driver to finish on the lead lap in 20th. Patrick
won the fan vote to give her the 22nd and final starting position. She became
the first female competitor in the 29-year history of the all-star race.