Chiefs-Colts to start playoff slate

Updated: December 29, 2013

New York, NY ( – The NFL announced its playoff schedule
Sunday night, in what was an action-packed final day to the regular season.

The postseason will kick off in Indianapolis on Saturday at 4:35 p.m. ET, with
the fifth-seeded Kansas City Chiefs heading to Lucas Oil Stadium to clash with
the fourth-seeded and AFC South-champion Colts.

The Saturday night game at 8:10 ET will feature the Philadelphia Eagles
hosting the sixth-seeded New Orleans Saints. The Saints lost control of the
NFC South in Week 16 after falling to the Carolina Panthers 17-13, but got
into the postseason with a 42-17 triumph over the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Sunday.

The Eagles held off the Dallas Cowboys, 24-22, to win the NFC East Sunday

Next Sunday at 1:05 ET, the sixth-seeded San Diego Chargers will travel to
Cincinnati to take on the third-seeded Bengals. The Bengals, who have been
knocked out of the postseason the last two years during wild-card weekend, won
the AFC North for the first time since 2009. Everything fell into place for
San Diego. Earlier in the day, the Chargers got the help they needed after
Miami and Baltimore lost. They then rallied for a 27-24 overtime win over the
Kansas City Chiefs, who sat 19 of their 22 regular starters.

The wild-card round will conclude at 4:40 ET Sunday at Lambeau Field as the
fourth-seeded Green Bay Packers host the No. 5 seed San Francisco 49ers. Green
Bay defeated the Chicago Bears 33-28 Sunday to capture the NFC North for the
third straight year. The 49ers beat Green Bay, 45-31, at Candlestick Park in
the divisional playoffs last season.

In the divisional round, the lowest remaining NFC seed will visit West
division-champion Seattle to battle to Seahawks at 4:35 ET on Saturday,
January 11, and the highest remaining AFC seed will travel to New England to
take on the East-champion Patriots in the primetime game that night at 8:15.

On Sunday January 12, the highest remaining NFC seed will head to Carolina to
play the Panthers at 1:05, and the lowest remaining AFC seed will visit Denver
to clash with the West Division-champion Broncos at 4:40 ET.

The AFC and NFC championship Games take place on Sunday, January 19. The Super
Bowl is on Sunday, February 2 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New