Peyton headlines 2014 Pro Bowl selections

Updated: December 27, 2013

New York, NY ( – The NFL announced the rosters for the 2014
Pro Bowl on Friday, with Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning headlining
the list of players that will be chosen in the first-ever Pro Bowl Draft.

For the first time in the history of the Pro Bowl, the league’s top players
were selected without regard to conference and will be placed on teams that
will be chosen by Hall-of-Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders.

The draft will be held on Jan. 22, with the Pro Bowl set for Jan. 26 at Aloha
Stadium in Hawaii.

Manning, fresh off breaking the record for touchdown passes in a season with
his 51st of the campaign, will be appearing in his 13th Pro Bowl.

The 37-year-old signal-caller was joined on the roster by fellow quarterbacks
Tom Brady of the Patriots, Drew Brees of the Saints, Cam Newton of the
Panthers, Philip Rivers of the Chargers and Russell Wilson of the Seahawks.

Jamaal Charles of the Chiefs led a group of six running backs headed to
Honolulu, with Chicago’s Matt Forte, San Francisco’s Frank Gore, Seattle’s
Marshawn Lynch, Philadelphia’s LeSean McCoy and Minnesota’s Adrian Peterson
also earning Pro Bowl honors.

Eight wide receivers were selected to participate in the game, headlined by
Cleveland’s Josh Brown, who leads the league in receiving yards.

Antonio Brown of the Steelers, Dez Bryant of the Cowboys, A.J. Green of the
Bengals, Andre Johnson of the Texans, Calvin Johnson of the Lions, Brandon
Marshall of the Bears and Demaryius Thomas of the Broncos were the other
wideouts picked to play in Hawaii.

Cleveland rookie Jordan Cameron joined San Francisco’s Vernon Davis, New
Orleans’ Jimmy Graham and Denver’s Julius Thomas as the tight end’s available
in the draft.

Sixteen offensive lineman rounded out the offensive side of the Pro Bowl
rosters, with San Francisco’s Joe Staley and Mike Iupati, Cleveland’s Joe
Thomas and Alex Mack, and New Orleans’ Jahri Evans and Ben Grubbs highlighting
the list.

As for the defense, Robert Quinn of the Rams and J.J. Watt of the Texans
headline a group of six defensive ends, while Detroit’s Ndamukong Suh and
Baltimore’s Haloti Ngata represent two of the six interior lineman bound for
the Pro Bowl.

A trio of 49ers were selected to represent their squad at linebacker, with
Ahmad Brooks, NaVorro Bowman and Patrick Willis all earning nods.

Kansas City teammates Brandon Flowers and Eric Berry joined Seattle’s Earl
Thomas, Richard Sherman and Kam Chancellor as part of the defensive backfield
for the Pro Bowl.

The special teams unit consists of punters Brandon Fields (Miami) and Johnny
Hekker (St. Louis), kickers Matt Prater (Denver) and Justin Tucker
(Baltimore), punt returner Dexter McCluster (Kansas City), and special teamers
Justin Bethel (Arizona) and Matthew Slater (New England).