Hamilton wins Spanish Grand Prix

Updated: May 11, 2014


Lewis Hamilton held off a flying Nico Rosberg for the last 3 laps to record a fourth consecutive race win of the season and in the process moved to the top of the championship standings in Barcelona.

The 2008 world champion stormed to the front from pole to lead his team mate for most of the race by a 4 second margin however in the dying laps the German pushed Hamilton all the way finishing a mere 0.6 seconds behind his team mate to give the Silver Arrows their fourth consecutive 1-2, last achieved by Ferrari in 2002.

The Mercedes dominance was underlined by the fact that after 12 laps they were already 17 seconds ahead of the nearest challenge while on lap 22 Hamilton was already lapping the back markers on his way to his 26th career victory.

Daniel Ricciardo finished best of the rest when he steered his Red Bull to his first podium, almost 50 seconds behind the Mercedes.

Quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel produced the drive of the day from 15th place to 4th, an encouraging performance by the Red Bull driver.

Valtteri Bottas finished a credible 5th for Williams followed by the Ferrari duo of  Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen.

Romain Grosjean gave Renault their first points of the season while Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg completed the top 10, delivering Force India more points in their best start to a Formula 1 season.

The win for Hamilton elevates him to the top of the championship standings 3 points ahead of teeam mate Rosberg.

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:41:05.155
2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes +00:00.636
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull – Renault 00:49.014
4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull – Renault 01:16.702
5. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 01:19.293
6. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 01:27.743
7. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1 lap
8. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Renault 1 lap
9. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
10. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
11. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1 lap
12. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 1 lap
13. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1 lap
14. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Renault 1 lap
15. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus – Renault 1 lap
16. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber – Ferrari 1 lap
17. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari 1 lap
18. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia – Ferrari 2 laps
19. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia – Ferrari 2 laps
20. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham – Renault 2 laps
r. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham – Renault 32 laps
r. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso – Renault 42 laps