Wiggins favourite as nominees for BBC Sports Personality announced

Updated: November 27, 2012

The shortlist for the BBC Sports Personality of the year has been announced in a year that has seen the most successful of all time in British sport and is bound to be a tight race for the coveted award. Tour De France winner and Olympic time trial gold medalist, Bradley Wiggins leads the way as the early favourite, however with the stunning achievements by all the nominees, it is far from a foregone conclusion.

In an Olympic year, Rory McIlroy is the only nominee not to have won an Olympic medal, however his second Major win at the PGA Championship, climb to the top of the world rankings and the money list winner on both sides of the Atlantic also puts him in the hunt.

Andy Murray also features following his epic win over Novak Djokovic in the US Open, becoming the first British male to win a Grand Slam since Fred Perry 76 years ago. His gold medal defeating Roger Federer in the singles at Wimbledon, also highlights his achievements for the year and his press for a claim of the accolade.

Mo Farah cannot be forgotten for his incredible distance double in London. Farah became only the seventh man in history to win gold in the 5000m and 100000m a stunning achievement.

Who can ever forget the tears in the Velodrome as Sir Chris Hoy became Britain’s most successful Olympian of all time with his 5th and 6th gold medals. Hoy has already won the award back in 2008 and looks unlikely to repeat the win despite his magnificent achievements.

Ainslie became the most successful sailor in Olympic history on the Weymouth waters this summer when he won his fourth straight gold medal.

At the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games, the four-time ISAF World Sailor of the Year claimed his first Olympic silver medal in the Laser Class and he was still only 19 years old. His first Olympic gold came at the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000, and it was following this that he changed from the Laser to Finn Class. The move was a success as he went on to win gold again at the 2004 Athens Games and 2008 Beijing Games.

David Weir collected 4 gold medals in London, to go with his 2 golds a silver and a bronze from Beijing, in the Paralympics.

Bradley Wiggins made history this year when he became the first man to win the Tour De France and a gold medal in an Olympic year. The summer brought outstanding success as Wiggins became Great Britain’s most decorated Olympian when he won the gold medal in the men’s time trial, the seventh medal of his career, following his other incredible feat becoming the first Briton to win the Tour de France.

This year there is also 5 female nominees, as opposed to none of last year. Sarah Storey is now Britain’s most decorated female Paralympian, having won 11 gold, eight silver and three bronze medals, Ellie Simmonds won four Paralympic golds and broke 2 world records, Katherine Grainger became Britain’s most successful female rower this summer and captured the hearts of the nation as she won her first Olympic gold medal in London, Nicola Adams became the first women to win a boxing gold medal, and the face of the London Games Jess Ennis crushed her opposition in the women’s Heptathlon in another stunning performance.

It is going to be an extremely difficult decision considering the marvelous achievements by all of these fantastic athletes.