Wise Dan goes for second straight Shadwell Turf Mile win

Updated: October 2, 2013

Lexington, KY (SportsNetwork.com) – Horse of the Year Wise Dan will make a
final start before moving on to the Breeders’ Cup next month. The 6-year-old
gelding goes for his second consecutive win in Saturday’s 28th running of the
$750,000 Shadwell Turf Mile at Keeneland Racecourse.

Wise Dan, owned by Morton Fink, has been perfect in all five starts this year
and is working on a nine-race winning streak coming into Saturday’s start. He
won the Woodbine Mile, for the second straight year as well, just three weeks
ago as he follows a similar schedule as 2012.

The Shadwell Turf Mile is a Breeders’ Cup “Win and You’re In” event as was the
Woodbine Mile. The race winner gains automatic entry into the Breeders’ Cup
Mile at Santa Anita on Nov. 2.

Trained by Charles LoPresti, Wise Dan will break from the far outside post in
the 10-horse field. Hall of Fame jockey John Velazquez will again be aboard
the three-time Eclipse Award winner. Jose Lezcano substituted for Velazquez in
winning last year’s Shadwell Turf Mile.

Wise Dan won his second straight Fourstardave Handicap in August on Saratoga’s
turf course after beginning 2013 with victories in Keeneland’s Maker’s 46 Mile
and at Churchill Downs in the Turf Classic and Firecracker Handicap.

“He’s a great horse. I mean he is a dream come true. He makes us very proud,”
said LoPresti. “What he does for the fans and what he does for us, all my team
that’s worked with him, Mr. Fink is the breeder, the mare, all the awards we
got for breeding and the mare. He is just a dream come true. What a wonderful

The champion has earned $5,043,610 in 25 lifetime starts with 18 wins, while
banking just over $1.5 million this year.

LoPresti also has Turallure entered in the race. Owned by Four D Stables, the
gray 6-year-old will start from post 2 with Julien Leparoux riding.

Turallure was fourth in the Bernard Baruch Handicap at Saratoga five weeks
ago. In 2011, he won the Woodbine Mile and was second to Court Vision in the
Breeders’ Cup Mile.

He has career earnings of $1,375,814 with six wins in 24 starts.

Here is the complete field in post position order: Winning Prize, Garrett
Gomez; Turallure, Julien Leparoux; Skyring, Eddie Castro; Hogy, Joe Rocco Jr.;
Summer Front, Joe Bravo; Willcox Inn, James Graham; Handsome Mike, Mario
Gutierrez; Coalport, Channing Hill; Silver Max, Robby Albarado and Wise Dan,
John Velazquez.

Post-time will be approximately 5:21 p.m. (ET) for the Shadwell Turf Mile.