Johnson captures sixth Sprint Cup Series championship

Updated: November 17, 2013

Homestead, FL ( – Jimmie Johnson claimed his sixth
championship in the Sprint Cup Series after finishing ninth in Sunday’s
season-ending Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Johnson, who came to Homestead with a 28-point lead over Matt Kenseth, ran
among the top-10 for most of the race until he nearly wrecked after a restart
on lap 193. He bumped into the back of Kenseth and sustained slight damage to
his left-front fender, dropping him to 23rd in the field. Johnson bounced back
and went on to finish the season 19 points ahead of Kenseth, who finished
second. Kevin Harvick, the only other driver who was in contention to win the
title, finished 10th and concluded his season 34 points behind. Harvick won
last weekend’s race at Phoenix to keep his title hopes alive.

Johnson is now one title away from tying Richard Petty and the late Dale
Earnhardt for most championships in NASCAR’s premier series. Johnson’s first
five titles came consecutively from 2006-10.

Rick Hendrick, the owner of Johnson’s No. 48 car, won his 11th championship in
Sprint Cup.

Denny Hamlin, who is Kenseth’s teammate at Joe Gibbs Racing, won the 400-mile
race. Hamlin has won a race in each of his eight full seasons in the series.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished third, while Martin Truex Jr. and Clint Bowyer
rounded the top-five.